Young woman with big glasses studying the astrology elements and their meanings.

This Is The First Thing Many Astrologers Consider When Studying Your Birth Chart

There's a reason it's a priority.

Originally Published: 

Have you ever thought about the one thing that sets you apart from everyone else? Or the part of your personality makes you the most unique? Whether you're constantly recognized for your dazzling creativity, or perhaps criticized for being too stubborn, the meaning of the elements in astrology plays a significant role in your cosmic identity. After all, the four elements are very much alive within each and every person. However, astrology elements have very specific impacts on you, and those impacts are determined by the celestial activity that took place at the exact moment of your birth.

There are four elements in astrology: fire, earth, air, and water. Each of the astrology elements have a yin (feminine) and yang (masculine) energy, but like everything in this ancient practice, staying balanced is essential to both your physical and spiritual well-being. Given that there are 12 signs in the zodiac, each astrology element rules three signs; the way the element expresses itself depends on the zodiac sign. Earth and water are considered feminine, as they tend to be more nurturing and sensual. Fire and air are considered masculine, as they prefer to communicate and take action.

My astrology mentor taught me to make the elements a priority, and to this day, it's the first thing I consider when studying a birth chart. Acknowledging the presence of the four astrology elements in someone's birth chart can immediately help you determine the chart holder's personality and general life approach. For instance, how many planets are in water? Are all four elements present? Does one element overpower another? If you’re trying to answer these questions, look no further than the four elements in astrology.

Dina Popovic/EyeEm/Getty Images

Fire: Aries, Leo, And Sagittarius

Fire is a symbol of creation, energy, and vitality. According to Ancient Symbols, fire is considered to be the first element that was born when the universe was created. Fire rules Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius, which helps explain their passionate nature and over-the-top enthusiasm.

A birth chart with prominent fire most likely belongs to a person who is active, competitive, and highly passionate. On the flip side of that, someone with fire in their chart can be impatient and quick-tempered. Channeling this element can help you tap into your inner child and creative muse. It can also help you feel confident.

Earth: Taurus, Virgo, And Capricorn

This element is a symbol of abundance, stability, and solidity. Earth rules Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn, which explains the innate persistence and practicality that is central to these zodiac signs. A birth chart with prominent earth most likely belongs to a person who is pragmatic, dependable, and realistic. On the dark side, someone with earth in their chart can be inflexible and ruthlessly stubborn. Channeling this element can help you find stability and consistency in your routine.

Air: Gemini, Libra, And Aquarius

Air is a symbol of communication, intelligence, and versatility. Air rules Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius, so that explains their charming social skills. A birth chart with prominent air most likely belongs to a person who prefers thinking logically rather than emotionally. At the same time, they can be incredibly indecisive and fickle by nature. Channeling this element can promote mental clarity and enhance your communication style.

Water: Cancer, Scorpio, And Pisces

Water is a symbol of emotion, dreams, healing, intuition, and the universal realm. According to Ancient Symbols, it also represents death and rebirth. Water rules Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces, which can explain each of the highly intuitive nature and mysterious demeanor of these signs.

A birth chart with prominent water most likely belongs to a person who is naturally perceptive of their surroundings. On the opposite end of the spectrum, these signs can be moody and hypersensitive. Channeling this element can help you tap into your emotions, and bring you closer to the spirit world.

This article was originally published on