NASA/Getty Images News/Getty Images

Is Your Zodiac Sign Ruled By 2 Planets Instead Of 1? Here's What That Could Mean For Your Horoscope

Every zodiac sign has what's called a planetary ruler, a planet that matches the energy of their sign and can tell you more about that signs qualities and characteristics. But only a few zodiac signs are ruled by two planets instead of one, and this adds dimension and depth to their chart interpretation. I don't know, maybe it even makes them a better person. Maybe having two planetary rulers makes you someone who is more likely to volunteer at a shelter on Black Friday instead of elbowing people into the throat at the mall. You'll have to read on to find out all this and more. I can't promise you the secrets to the universe in this article. I can't even promise you the secrets to your own happiness. I'm not a wizard, I'm a messenger, people — a messenger with an extraordinary amount of knowledge which, outside of writing these articles for your entertainment, is absolutely useless. So bear with me here.

While every zodiac sign has a planetary ruler, a select few of them have what's referred to as a modern ruler, and an ancient ruler. At first, some signs shared a planetary ruler, and then as other planets were discovered, zodiac signs were given new planetary rulers which better matched their energy characteristics. Only Taurus, Aquarius, Scorpio, Virgo, and Pisces are ruled by two planets. These signs now have both their modern day planetary ruler and their ancient ruler, and are affected by the movements of these planets more so than other signs.

Taurus- Venus (ancient ruler), Ceres (modern ruler)


Taurus was originally ruled by the planet Venus, which is said to be the planet that governs money and love. However, Ceres, which is one of the largest asteroids in the asteroid belt and therefore considered by some astrologers and astronomers to be a dwarf planet, has been designated by some as Taurus' new modern ruler. This is so new however, that it isn't even widely accepted by astrologers yet. Ceres is associated with the things that connect us to the physical world, including our bodies, our material belongings, our connection to Mother Nature.

Virgo- Mercury (ancient), Chiron (modern)


Virgo is said to be ruled by Mercury still, because like the connection between Taurus and the asteroid Ceres, Virgo and Chiron are still a new connection. Mercury is the planet of information, the written and spoken word, and technology. Some however believe that Chiron is the ruler of Virgo, which to me, is confusing, because it's not a planet, it's a comet.

Still, in a zodiac chart, Chiron is called "The Wounded Healer," and it represents the way we go about healing and settling our own deep scars and wounds in order to eventually heal those around us. That makes the connection to Virgo more understandable to me, because of Virgo's connection to the sixth house of health and healing. Virgos are always taking care of others.

Scorpio- Mars (ancient ruler), Pluto (modern ruler)


Pluto is widely considered in astrology to be the modern ruler of Scorpio, because Pluto is the planet of subconscious forces, just as Pluto was the God of the Underworld in Greek mythology.

Mars was Scorpio's ancient ruler, before Pluto was discovered, then lost, then rediscovered (a truly Scorpio move by Pluto, btw). Mars represents the drive and ambition of Scorpio, while Pluto represents the deeply hidden, mysterious forces behind that ambition.

Aquarius- Saturn (ancient ruler), Uranus (modern ruler)


Aquarius was once ruled by Saturn, the disciplinarian planet, representing tradition, order, structure, and the status quo. It also is the modern ruler of Capricorn, who values all these things, while Aquarius resists and tries to break free from them. Uranus, an erratic planet, was assigned as Aquarius' new ruler for this reason. Aquarius is the rebel, the revolutionary; this sign most likely to stare down tradition and ask, "WHY? What's the point?" and to create something brand new.

Pisces- Jupiter (ancient ruler), Neptune (modern ruler)


Pisces was once ruled by Jupiter, along with Sagittarius. Jupiter is a planet associate with gifts, luck, tolerance, and spiritual growth. These are all still themes in the life of a Pisces, but with a twist: Neptune, the modern ruler of Pisces, is associated with dreams, psychic receptivity, illusion, and deception.

It's a uniquely two-sided planet, representing the dual nature of Pisces. There are two fish swimming in opposing directions, one toward the heavens, and one toward the underworld.