Taylor Swift's 'Red' re-release is coming, so here are the details like release date, new songs comi...

Taylor Finally Released Her 'Red (Taylor's Version)' Tracklist, And It's So Stacked

30 songs, y'all! I repeat, 30 SONGS!

Originally Published: 
D Dipasupil/FilmMagic/Getty Images

Swifties, don’t forget to breathe because Taylor just announced her next re-record album choice, and it’s a big one. On Friday, June 18, the “Lover” singer dropped the announcement on Twitter, revealing that the new album re-release coming to you is 2012’s Red. Without further ado, here’s everything you need to know about Taylor Swift’s Red re-release, including its release date, new songs, and more.

Swift’s announcement about Red (Taylor’s Version) came as a major surprise, especially since fans assumed her 1989 album would likely be next on her re-release list. The singer unveiled the announcement on Twitter with a long letter outlining her decision. "I've always said that the world is a different place for the heartbroken. It moves on a different axis, at a different speed. Time skips backwards and forwards fleetingly," wrote Swift.

"The heartbroken might go through thousands of micro-emotions a day trying to figure out how to get through it without picking up the phone to hear that old familiar voice. In the land of heartbreak, moments of strength, independence, and devil-may-care rebellion are intricately woven together with grief, paralyzing vulnerability, and hopelessness,” she continued.

Then, she revealed the context behind her musings, writing, "Imagining your future might always take you on a detour back to the past. And this is all to say, that the next album I'll be releasing is my version of Red."

In her letter, Swift likened the raw and fragmented emotions throughout Red as the need to talk about something “over and over and over,” sort of like a “friend who calls you in the middle of the night going on and on about their ex.”

Check out all the details surrounding Swift’s Red re-release below.

Red Re-Record Release Date

Although you’ll need to wait a while, Swift revealed the exact date you can expect Red (Taylor’s Version) to drop. “Red (Taylor’s Version) will be out November 19,” she wrote. Although that’s well into the fall, you can still listen to Swift’s re-recorded version of Fearless (which was released on April 9, 2021) or the OG Red album to get yourself pumped for the re-record.

Some fans are noting that the announcement for the album was on Scooter Braun’s 40th birthday, which is a major burn if it was intentional:

Others are also pointing out that the release is 22 weeks away from the announcement, and fans think it’s a nod to the album’s hit song “22”:

Red (Taylor’s Version) Tracklist

On Friday, Aug. 6, Swift finally unveiled her album tracklist, confirming many fan theories abound about collabs that would feature on the album. “I know some of you thought that would be like trying to solve a crossword and realizing there’s no right answer BUT…you played it good & right,” Swift wrote on Instagram, revealing there would be plenty more musical guests on the album. “Congrats pals, you guessed the correct titles and feature artists on Red (my version). The vault tracks will feature @chrisstapleton, @phoebebridgers, @markfoster and the first song @teddysphotos and I ever wrote together the first time we met in 2012.”

Swift expressed her gratitude for all the artists that helped her bring the songs to life. “I can’t wait til we can dust off our highest hopes and relive these memories together,” she wrote. “We’ll also be making a bunch of new ones too, since Red (Taylor’s Version) includes so many songs you haven’t heard yet. Til then, I’ll be counting down and picturing it all in my head. In burning red.”

Check out the Red (Taylor’s Version) tracklist below. (Yes, it includes the 10-minute version of “All Too Well.”)

  1. State of Grace
  2. Red
  3. Treacherous
  4. I Knew You Were Trouble
  5. All Too Well
  6. 22
  7. I Almost Do
  8. We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together
  9. Stay Stay Stay
  10. The Last Time (feat. Gary Lightbody of Snow Patrol)
  11. Holy Ground
  12. Sad Beautiful Tragic
  13. The Lucky One
  14. Everything Has Changed (feat. Ed Sheeran)
  15. Starlight
  16. Begin Again
  17. The Moment I Knew
  18. Come Back…Be Here
  19. Girl At Home
  20. State of Grace (Acoustic Version)
  21. Ronan
  22. Better Man
  23. Nothing New (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)
  24. Babe
  25. Message In A Bottle
  26. I Bet You Think About Me (feat. Chris Stapleton)
  27. Forever Winter
  28. Run (feat. Ed Sheeran)
  29. The Very First Night
  30. All Too Well (10 Minute Version)

Changes To Red (Taylor’s Version)

Swifties think Red was about the songwriter’s breakup with Jake Gyllenhaal. But whoever it’s about, Swift’s re-record shined a new light on her spectrum of emotions. In her announcement, she wrote, "Musically and lyrically, Red resembled a heartbroken person. It was all over the place, a fractured mosaic of feelings that somehow all fit together in the end. Happy, free, confused, lonely, devastated, euphoric, wild, and tortured by memories past.”

She continued to examine her old songs on the album, which she says came with a new life. “Like trying on pieces of a new life, I went into the studio and experimented with different sounds and collaborators. And I'm not sure if it was pouring my thoughts into this album, hearing thousands of your voices sing the lyrics back to me in a passionate solidarity, or if it was simply time, but something was healed along the way,” she wrote.

Like Swift’s other re-records, she revealed that Red (Taylor’s Version) will include new songs. “This will be the first time you hear all 30 songs that were meant to go on Red.” She also added that one of them is 10 minutes long, and fans thought it would be her track “All Too Well” since she’s talked about it in the past.

Kevin Mazur/WireImage/Getty Images

The original version of Red only had 16 tracks, while the deluxe version of the 2012 album had 22. That means that fans can expect eight new songs on the Red re-record.

Swift is probably taking the lead on reworking any of the songs. Still, she specifically said she “experimented with different sounds and collaborators,” which means she’s brought in some other influences. The real question is, did Swift bring in William Bowery (aka her boo Joe Alwyn) for some of this experimentation?

Unfortunately, there’s no way of knowing what changes she’s talking about concerning Red (Taylor’s Version), so you’ll need to stay tuned until it releases to hear what she changed and what she didn’t.

Since Swift changed a few lyrics in the songs on her Fearless re-record, fans should probably listen carefully for a few lyrical changes as well.

You’ll need to wait to find out more deets about the Red re-release, so keep your eyes out for any clues Swift drops on Twitter over the next few months.

Red (Taylor’s Version) Teasers

On Aug. 5, Swift unveiled the vault door video for Red (Taylor’s Version), which included a number of jumbled words for fans to decode. Swift captioned her post with a sinister message about the hard-to-crack code. “*Presses post* *cackles maniacally*” Swift captioned her post. “Level: casually cruel in the name of being honest,” she added.

Tay is always dropping Easter eggs for her fans, who have become successful super sleuths. Fans got right to work trying to decode the vault video, thinking it was hinting at her album’s tracklist.

One fan thought Swift’s message included a hint about a collaboration with Phoebe Bridgers.

With all these teasers, fans will be waiting not-so-patiently for Nov. 19 to arrive so they can finally hear the album.

This article was originally published on