Luna and Monet in Gossip Girl

Gossip Girl's Season 2 Soundtrack Will Be Part Of The Show’s Lasting Legacy

Say what you want about the reboot, but the music is good.

Originally Published: 

No matter if it’s 2007 or 2023, there are a few things that any Gossip Girl series is basically required to deliver: glam fashion, catty comebacks, and of course, the coolest soundtrack on television. Any music-loving TV obsessive who grew up in the late 2000s knew about OMFGG, the original show’s official soundtrack, which was packed with fizzy alt-rock jams the show made iconic, like “One Week of Danger” by The Virgins and “Sour Cherry” by The Kills. The first season of HBO Max’s reboot kept that impeccable taste alive with a sprawling playlist, and Gossip Girl’s Season 2 soundtrack took the torch masterfully.

Like in Season 1, the second season of the Gossip Girl reboot featured an exciting mix of both recognizable hits and more underground bops that viewers may not be as familiar with... but were certainly replaying over and over again after discovering them. The show’s first season went all out with songs by hitmakers like Ariana Grande, Billie Eilish, Doja Cat, and more, and Season 2 continued to shine with that impressive star power and viral bops.

The second season opened with all the main girlies departing from the holiday party that ended Season 1, and as Julien sealed her shady new deal with Gossip Girl, Finneas’ morose track “Happy Now?” began to play. The song about the isolating feeling that comes after achieving some big goal was the perfect choice to score Julien’s reemergence.

Check out the full list of songs featured in Gossip Girl Season 2 below.

Gossip Girl Season 2, Episode 1 Soundtrack

  • “Happy Now?” by FINNEAS
  • “Forget Me Not” by She She She and Piya Malik
  • “That’s Where I Am” by Maggie Rogers
  • “Congarocka” by Henry Mancini
  • “Vertigo / Relight My Fire” by Dan Hartman
  • “Blackbird (Live)” by Sylvester
  • “I Almost Had a Weakness” by Elvis Costello and the Brodsky Quartet
  • “Rumore” by Raffaella Cará
  • “Pale Blue Light” by Jessie Ware

Gossip Girl Season 2, Episode 2 Soundtrack

  • “Nobody Knows” by Pastor T.L. Barrett and the Youth for Christ Choir
  • “Something We'll Remember” by Ibibio Sound Machine
  • “Summer in New York” by Sofi Tukker
  • “The Hostess with the Mostes’ on the Ball” by Ethel Merman
  • “Bummer Days” by Liza Anne
  • “Are You Ready, Gyp Watson?” by Dolores Gray
  • “No Pain For Cakes” by The Lounge Lizards
  • “See You Later, I'm Gone” by Robert Lester Folsom

Gossip Girl Season 2, Episode 3 Soundtrack

  • “Darkside” by Amber Mark
  • “Your Age” by Rina Sawayama
  • “All The Feels” by Scavenger Hunt
  • “Fire” by Lizzy Mercier Dexcloux
  • “s.f.s.” by sad alex
  • “Sirens” by Flume ft. Caroline Polachek

Gossip Girl Season 2, Episode 4 Soundtrack

  • “Pas d'ici” by Ehla
  • “Love It If We Made It” by Rina Sawayama
  • “Her” by Daya
  • “Soulville Samba” by Oscar Peterson
  • “Scooter” by Lolo Zouaï
  • “With You Without You” by Jessica Winter
  • “Lightning” by Charli XCX
  • “R U D Y” by Houston Kendrick
  • “It's On Your Own Body and Mind” by Sufjan Stevens and Angelod De Augustine

Gossip Girl Season 2, Episode 5 Soundtrack

  • “Tread Carefully” by SZA
  • “Western Wind” by Carly Rae Jepsen
  • “The Function” by €uro Tra$h & Yellow Claw feat. Sky Sky
  • “Punk Rock Loser” by Viagra Boys
  • “Tommy” by Claud
  • “Fantasy” by 4-Ten feat. Gabriella Westleigh
  • “WOLVES” by Hurray for the Riff Raff

Gossip Girl Season 2, Episode 6 Soundtrack

  • “I Love Makin' Love To You” by Evie Sands
  • “Save Me” by Empress Of
  • “Can't Run But” by Paul Simon
  • “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together” by Taylor Swift (choral cover)
  • “Invincible” by Omar Apollo ft. Daniel Caesar

Gossip Girl Season 2, Episode 7 Soundtrack

  • “On The Ground” by Grace Ives
  • “Hold Me Closer” by Elton John and Britney Spears
  • “Hot Mess” by dodie
  • “Private Idaho” by The B-52's
  • “Jukebox (Don't Put Another Dime)” by The Flirts
  • “I'll Be You” by The Replacements
  • “Rapture” by Blondie
  • “Someone to Blame” by Dixie

Gossip Girl Season 2, Episode 8 Soundtrack

  • “I Love Cherry” by Medium Build and Glaves
  • “No One Dies From Love” by Tove Lo
  • “cherry blossom” by Kacey Musgraves
  • “sweet and sour” by Amelia Moore
  • “Pink Venom” by BLACKPINK
  • “Fade” by Hayden James feat. Flynn
  • “XT4S1S” by Danna Paola
  • “Tamagotchi” by Omar Apollo
  • “Everytime” by Ethel Cain
  • “Cucurrucucu Paloma” by Gaby Moreno
  • “Burning” by Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Gossip Girl Season 2, Episode 9 Soundtrack

  • “Sunset” by Caroline Polachek
  • “Mentiras Con Cariño” by Adrian Quesada and iLe
  • “Romance With a Memory” by Oliver Slim
  • “One Mint Julep” by Xavier Cugat
  • “Ran Kan Kan” by Tito Puente
  • “Spanish Grease” by Willie Bobo
  • “Turn and Run” by Neil Finn

Gossip Girl Season 2, Episode 10 Soundtrack

  • “Two Sugars” by Tai Verdes
  • “Unholy” by Sam Smith featuring Kim Petras
  • “American Teenager” by Ethel Cain
  • “Amore Selvaggio” by Marli Blu & Marco Moschino
  • “Super Saiyan” by DUCKWRTH
  • “Why Am I Like This?” by Orla Gartland
  • “L'appuntamento” by Ornella Vanoni
  • “Dazzle” by Siouxsie & The Banshees

You can listen to the full soundtrack on Spotify.

This article was originally published on