It's Leather Weather: The Best Jackets For Fall At Every Price Point

Every chick has that one investment piece — a little black dress, a basic fall equestrian-style boot or a drapey scarf -- to wear with virtually everything she owns. For many women, it’s the quintessential leather jacket.

As the legitimate OG of all jackets, these leather duds toughen up flirty dresses, give off Serena van der Woodsen vibes when you’re feeling a little too Jenny Humphrey and best of all, they make you look badass with minimal effort.

Even though it's still a balmy 90-something degrees out and you spent last weekend at the beach, these jackets need to be on your radar — and in your closet — faster than you can say "Pumpkin Spice Latte."

Pretty In Pink

Light colored leather jackets are definitely more of a spring thing, but who cares about rules? These four pastel styles are less Barbie and more Pepto Bismol, which makes them the perfect antidote to autumn’s moody neutrals.

Pair each with basic blacks or let summer reign just a little longer by partnering these pretty guys up with bleached boyfriend jeans and a graphic tee.

Fendi striped leather biker jacket, $4,250, net-a-porter.com Rebecca Taylor washed leather jacket, $895, rebeccataylor.com She Inside pink lapel epaulet oblique zipper crop jacket, $40.83, shein.com Dorothy Perkins premium pink suede jacket, $214, dorothyperkins.com

Get Naked

You don’t have to wear a black leather jacket to look like you’re ready to kick some ass. Opt for greige or nude shades to keep the look less harsh.

If your jacket resembles café au lait, you're on the right track. Pair with an all-white ensemble (if you're not prone to spillage, that is) or mix with prints.

Maurice’s moto jacket with button tabs and knit ribbing, $69, maurices.com Joseph suede jacket, $857, stylebop.com House of Fraser cotton biker jacket, $61, houseoffraser.com T by Alexander Wang pebbled leather jacket, $1,326, boutique1.com

Classic And Kickass

Look like a superhero without actually knowing how to kick someone’s ass by investing in a baller black leather jacket.

The biker-chick-style jacket is a cross between James Dean and Catwoman, which makes it the perfect piece to accompany anything from a bodycon dress to those pleather leggings gathering dust in the back of your closet.

Boda Skins “Napoleon” gold hardware jacket, $599, bodaskins.com Acne Studios leather biker Jacket, $1625, shop.harpersbazaar.com Nasty Gal moto zip crop jacket, $88, nastygal.com H&M biker jacket, $61, hm.com

In-vest-ed

If it’s still too damn hot for anything even resembling sleeves, opt for a vest instead. It looks great paired with both a tank top and a fluffy turtleneck. Fashion juxtaposition, you’ll always be our one true love.

Rebecca Minkoff "Tiffy" fringe vest, $218, rebeccaminkoff.com New Look tan leather-look waterfall gilet, $43, newlook.com BLK DNM vest 12 leather vest, $350, theoutnet.com Topshop “Sylvia” leather biker vest, $240, topshop.com