She's So Mother

Victoria Monét Is A Y2K, Southern-Inspired Star In Her New Music Video

These R&B references are chef’s kiss.

Originally Published: 

Victoria Monét has been on the prowl. The singer introduced her Jaguar era — a buttery R&B album filled with rich browns imageries and golden safaris — in August 2020, reminding the world that her lush vocals is just as impressive as her lyrical pen. Yes, she’s the mastermind behind Ariana Grande’s memorable 7 Rings mantra: “I want it, I got it.” Now, nearly three years after the album’s release, Monét’s continuing her cat cosplay with Jaguar II. The star recently released a music video for her third single “On My Mama,” and it’s littered with iconic references to artists from the South.

On Aug. 14, Monét dropped the long-awaited visual for “On My Mama.” This richly produced hit, which is on the cusp of a TikTok dance challenge, is the third offering from Jaguar II. With this closing out her trilogy of early singles, it’s only right the music video has the greatest elements. And surprisingly, it does. Just shy of four minutes, Monét takes listeners on a infectious tribute to Black southern artists who shaped the early 2000s. This direction fits perfectly, as she interpolates “I Look Good” from Texas emcee Chalie Boy on “On My Mama.” Ugh, we love an artist with taste.

This hypnotic release follows several album updates from Monét. On July 17, the “Monopoly” singer released the tracklist to Jaguar II — set to release on Aug. 25 — on Instagram. “I’m so happy to finally share this with you! Look at these FEATURES. screaming..what is life?!” Monét wrote on the post. Boasting 11 tracks, the album sees the singer trading vocals with Lucky Daye; KAYTRANADA; Earth, Wind & Fire (!); and her two-year-old daughter Hazel. A star readying another young star for greatness? Love to see it.

These sonic breadcrumbs have been decadent offerings from Monét, who knows how to shape-shift her vocals to fit any production. With her impressively acing this skill across her new singles, there’s a chance it might continue on Jaguar II.

The tracklist news comes shortly after Monét announced the dates to her Jaguar Tour on July 10. The now sold out excursion will kick off in early September, with her visiting cities such as Detroit, Houston, New York, Las Vegas, and Los Angeles.

Tickets for the tour went on sale Friday, July 14. That same day, the R&B it-Girl excitedly announced on Instagram it had sold out. “Y’all my mind is BLOWN!!! You sold out this entire tour in minutes. I’m gonna cryyyyy! I did not expect all this but I’m so happy you really like me,” she wrote at the time.


The tour’s quick success didn’t shock fans, as many have been aware of her talent since her early days at Motown Records. And now, with a new set of eyes on her, Monét’s damn near unstoppable.

Check out all the details about Jaguar II and her sold out tour, below.

Jaguar II’s Tracklist

Monét’s forthcoming album features several surprise collaborations.

See the full tracklist below:

  1. “Smoke (Ft. Lucky Daye)”
  2. “Smoke (Reprise)”
  3. “Party Girls (Ft. Buju Banton)”
  4. “Alright”
  5. “Cadillac (A Pimp’s Anthem)”
  6. “How Does It Make You Feel”
  7. “On My Mama”
  8. “I’m The One”
  9. “Stop (Askin’ Me 4Shyt)”
  10. “Hollywood (Ft. Earth, Wind & Fire and Hazel Monét)”
  11. “Goodbye”

Pre-Order Info For Jaguar II

Fans can now pre-save Monét’s album on Spotify and Apple Music.

The Jaguar Tour Begins In The Fall

Victoria Monét’s glittery tour will kick off in Detroit, Michigan on Sept. 6, 2023.

Where Will Monét Visit On The Jaguar Tour?

After her debut visit to Detroit, Victoria Monét will travel to cities like New York, Atlanta, Houston, Las Vegas and Los Angeles. She’ll then close out in Chicago in late-October.

  • ​​Sept. 6 in Detroit, MI at Majestic Theatre
  • Sept. 8 in Toronto, ON at Danforth Music Hall
  • Sept. 11 in Boston, MA at Royale
  • Sept. 13 in New York, NY at Webster Hall
  • Sept. 15 in Washington, DC at The Howard Theatre
  • Sept. 16 in Philadelphia, PA at Theatre of Living Arts (TLA)
  • Sept. 18 in Charlotte, NC at The Underground
  • Sept. 19 in Atlanta, GA at Buckhead Theatre
  • Sept. 21 in New Orleans, LA at Joy Theater New Orleans
  • Sept. 22 in Houston, TX at House of Blues
  • Sept. 24 in Dallas, TX at House of Blues
  • Sept. 26 in Denver, CO at Cervantes Masterpiece Ballroom
  • Sept. 28 in Las Vegas, NV at 24 Oxford
  • Sept. 29 in Phoenix, AZ at The Van Buren
  • Oct. 1 in San Diego, CA at The Observatory North Park
  • Oct. 3 in San Francisco, CA at The Regency Ballroom
  • Oct. 6 in Portland, OR at The Wonder Ballroom
  • Oct. 7 in Seattle, WA at The Showbox
  • Oct. 9 in Sacramento, CA at Ace of Spades
  • Oct. 11 in Los Angeles, CA at The Fonda Theatre
  • Oct. 22 in Chicago, IL at House of Blues
Steve Jennings/Getty Images Entertainment/Getty Images

What’s The Setlist For The Jaguar Tour?

It’s safe to assume she’ll perform both her Jaguar albums. The singer might show more love to Jaguar II, as it’ll release a month before the tour starts. So far, Monét has dropped three singles off her upcoming project: “Party Girls” with Buju Banton, the Lucky Daye-assisted “Smoke,” and “On My Mama.”

“Party Girls”

If any track needs to be in rotation, it needs to be “Party Girls.” This dancehall offering has a subtle waft of Beyoncé’s 2003 hit, “Baby Boy,” with a twinkle of Christina Millian’s infectious “Dip It Low.” They sonically exist in the same universe, and Monét’s velvety vocals will have you slow whining on the dancefloor (and at her upcoming show) throughout the fall.


The smoky flare on Monét and Lucky Daye’s duet still lives rent free in fans’ minds.

“On My Mama”

Like the icon she is, Monét interpolated the illest affirmation of all time (Chalie Boy’s 2009 gem “I Look Good) on “On My Mama.”

As for her first Jaguar project, fans might want to keep their ear on “A*s Like That” and “Touch Me.” There’s also “Coastin’,” her sun-soaked anthem that released nearly a year after the first album.

This article was originally published on