Getty Images

Here's Who Beat J Biebs And T Swift As The Most Followed Person On Twitter

Ahh, Twitter. There's no place I'd rather spend 12 hours of my day.

Over the years, I developed a very deep, personal connection to the platform. I love using it as a way to tweet about issues that matter to me like eating pizza and talking to cute boys. LOL, kidding. Maybe.

Many people go to Twitter to debate more serious topics or catch up on the latest celebrity gossip.

This past year, I feel like I've been more engaged with Twitter than ever before. It's where I get most of my information about the world, to be honest.

Twitter recently released its annual Year in Review where it looks back on the hot topics and tweets of the past 365 days.

Twitter calculated its top 10 most followed users, and the results may surprise you. I, personally, was pretty shocked to not see my own name in there, but whatever. There's always next year.

Check out the top users on Twitter with the largest followings, starting with number 10 and making your way down to number one.

OH, and you'll never guess who beat out Justin Bieber and Taylor Swift for the number one spot.

10. Cristiano Ronaldo (@Cristiano): 39 million

Hmm, yes. I see why he made the cut. Great work, Cristiano. Feel free to keep your shirt off forever.

9. Britney Spears (@britneyspears): 43.4 million

Britney is queen. Always has been, always will be.

8. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake): 50.1 million

Who wouldn't want to be kept up to date on the JT/Jimmy Fallon bromance?

7. Ellen DeGeneres (@TheEllenShow): 50.4 million

The image speaks for itself.

6. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga): 52.7 million

The Countess' Twitter is filled with gems on the reg -- from her music and her acting to everything in between.

5. Rihanna (@rihanna): 53.1 million

Thank you, Rihanna, for blessing us with your presence.

4. President Barack Obama (@BarackObama): 66.5 million

If you don't follow the POTUS, then I don't even want to know who you follow.

3. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13): 66.7 million

Third place because just look at that face... Oh, and Taylor looks cute, too.

2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber): 70.5 million

It looks like Beliebers really did take over the planet.

1. Katy Perry (@katyperry): 78.3 million

YES, it's true. Your girl Katy Perry racked up the most followers for the 2015 year, fuzzy socks and all. Sorry, T Swift, looks like your squad isn't enough in the Twitter world. Tweeters are all about this California Gurl.