Twitter

How To Tell If You've Been Blocked Or Deleted On Each Social Media Channel

By
Share

Hi, guys. Candice here.

As my humanitarian effort for the day, I've decided to do some investigative research to see what, exactly, it looks like to have been blocked and deleted by someone you used to be friends with on every channel of social media.

Maybe you're trying to figure out if your friend hasn't opened your Snapchat in three weeks because she's mad at you... or because she deleted you. OR maybe you want to know if your ex deleted his Instagram... or he just blocked you. OR maybe you can't figure out if your boss saw that psycho tweet you posted... or she doesn't follow you anymore.

Whatever the case, I'VE GOT YOU COVERED.

In order to conduct my investigation, I enlisted the help of my editor, Alexia. Alexia and I are friends across all social media channels (Facebook, Snapchat, Twitter, and Instagram).

So, one by one one, we went through each social media channel and I took screenshots of what it looks like to be friends, blocked and, if applicable, deleted. And we did it all on the mobile app versions because, lets be real, we're all on our phones more often than we're on computers anyway.

See for yourself here, and know once and for all if that guy you might have drunk texted one too many times really did actually block you off of Instagram.

Facebook

Facebook gives you the options to be friends, to block and to delete. So we explored all three.

Here's what it looks like when you're FRIENDS:

Facebook

See how "Friends" is highlighted in blue with a checkmark next to the person's silhouette? I even drew a handy little red box around it. Yeah, that means you're friends.

Here's what it looks like when you've been DELETED:

Facebook

Oh, WOULD YA LOOK AT THAT? "Friends" has been changed to "Add Friend." That's because you were just deleted.

Here's what it looks like when you've been BLOCKED:

Facebook

Something didn't go "wrong." You were just blocked.

Twitter

Twitter doesn't really have a "delete" option. Instead, you can unfollow. So we looked into what it looks like to be blocked, unfollowed and mutually following.

Here's what it looks like when you're FOLLOWING EACH OTHER:

Twitter

See how next to her handle it says "FOLLOWS YOU"? Yeah, that little section should fill your heart with butterflies and happiness. THE FEELING'S MUTUAL.

Here's what it looks like when you've been UNFOLLOWED:

Twitter

Oof. "FOLLOWS YOU" is gone, meaning you've been unfollowed!

Here's what it looks like when you've been BLOCKED:

Twitter

Twitter doesn't mess around with the sneaky tricks like Facebook does. They'll just tell you how it is straight up. I kind of respect the move, not gonna lie.

Instagram

Since the Instagram profile of a person you follow doesn't change if they don't follow you back, we looked into what it looks like when you're following someone and when they block you.

Here's what it looks like when you're FOLLOWING SOMEONE:

Instagram

It says "FOLLOWING" right there in all caps and bright green, and there are all her posts right there for me in all their glory.

Here's what it looks like when you've been BLOCKED:

Instagram

Instagram unfollowed me from her account, and it says she has no posts. The kicker, though, is that she does have posts! I've just been BLOCKED from seeing them. Dun dun dun.

Snapchat

Snapchat is like Facebook. You can block, delete and be friends. So, obviously we explored all three options.

When you're friends...

When you go to watch their story, you'll see it there (if the person has a story).

Snapchat

There's Alexia's story right there at the top of the crop.

When you try to send a snap...

Snapchat

I go to send her a snap and there she is!

When you've been deleted...

When you go to watch their story, it won't be there.

Snapchat

AAAH! Her story is gone!

But when you try to send a snap, her name still pops up.

Snapchat

Of course, she won't receive it because she chose to delete me. But Snapchat will let me DREAM ON.

When you've been blocked..

Her story will be gone just like it was when I was deleted.

Snapchat

But the real kicker happens when I try to send her a snap and... dun dun dun... I CAN'T.

 

Snapchat

But don't worry, guys. At least Snapchat is fair. I asked Alexia and she says that it won't let her send me any snaps, either. SUCKS TO SUCK, ALEXIA.

So there you have it. Think you've been blocked or deleted? Cross reference this list. I've got your back.

Elite Daily on YouTube