The VMAs Video Vanguard Winner Has Been Announced And It Might Surprise You

Kevin Winter/Ivan Gavan/Getty Images

The MTV VMAs are coming up on Sunday, August 27, but ever since the nominations were announced on July 25, fans have been dying to know who the prestigious Video Vanguard Award will be going to. Well, wait no more! MTV just announced that P!nk won the VMAs Video Vanguard Award.

Past winners of the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award include Beyoncé, Rihanna, Kanye West, Justin Timberlake, Britney Spears, and Madonna, just to name a few powerhouse names. P!nk came as a bit of a surprise for some fans, but she has been killing the music game since the '90s, so this is a well-deserved award for the singer.

P!nk will be performing at the VMAs, as all Video Vanguard Award winners do. Most of the winners do a medley of their greatest hits (never forget when *NSYNC reunited for Justin Timberlake's performance in 2013), though Rihanna spread out her performances throughout the entire night last year instead of doing one big performance. Here's hoping P!nk throws it back to her early days with a performance of "Get The Party Started" and "Just Like A Pill." She most recently dropped a new single called "What About Us," so she'll most likely perform that as well.


"What About Us" is the first single off P!nk's upcoming album, Beautiful Trauma, her first album in five years. Beautiful Trauma is set to release on October 13. There's no music video for "What About Us" just yet, but P!nk did release an audio version online. Congrats on your Video Vanguard Award, P!nk!

In case you missed it, here's a roundup of some of the 2017 VMA nominations:

Video of the Year

Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.” (TDE/Aftermath/Interscope) Bruno Mars – “24K Magic” (Atlantic Records) Alessia Cara – “Scars To Your Beautiful” (Def Jam) DJ Khaled ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller – “Wild Thoughts” (Epic Records/We The Best) The Weeknd – “Reminder” (XO/Republic Records)

Artist of the Year

Bruno Mars (Atlantic Records) Kendrick Lamar (TDE/Aftermath/Interscope) Ed Sheeran (Atlantic Records) Ariana Grande (Republic Records) The Weeknd (XO/Republic Records) Lorde (Republic Records)

Best New Artist

Khalid (RCA Records) Kodak Black (Atlantic Records) SZA (TDE/RCA Records) Young M.A (3D) Julia Michaels (Republic Records) Noah Cyrus (Records)

Best Collaboration

Charlie Puth ft. Selena Gomez – “We Don't Talk Anymore” (Atlantic Records) DJ Khaled ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller – “Wild Thoughts” (Epic Records/We The Best) D.R.A.M. ft. Lil Yachty – “Broccoli” (Atlantic Records) The Chainsmokers ft. Halsey – “Closer” (Disruptor Records/Columbia Records) Calvin Harris ft. Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry & Big Sean – “Feels” (Columbia Records) Zayn & Taylor Swift – “I Don't Wanna Live Forever (Fifty Shades Darker)” (Republic Records)

Best Pop 

Shawn Mendes – “Treat You Better” (Island Records) Ed Sheeran – “Shape of You” (Asylum/Atlantic Records) Harry Styles – “Sign Of The Times” (Columbia Records) Fifth Harmony ft. Gucci Mane – “Down” (Syco Music/Epic Records) Katy Perry ft. Skip Marley – “Chained To The Rhythm” (Capitol Records) Miley Cyrus – “Malibu” (RCA Records)

Best Hip Hop

Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.” (TDE/Aftermath/Interscope) Big Sean – “Bounce Back” (Def Jam) Chance the Rapper – “Same Drugs” (Chance the Rapper LLC) D.R.A.M. ft. Lil Yachty – “Broccoli” (Atlantic Records) Migos ft. Lil Uzi Vert – “Bad & Boujee” (300 Entertainment) DJ Khaled ft. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance the Rapper & Lil Wayne – “I'm The One” (Epic Records/We The Best)

Best Dance

Zedd and Alessia Cara – “Stay” (Interscope) Kygo x Selena Gomez – “It Ain't Me” (Ultra/Interscope) Calvin Harris – “My Way” (Columbia Records) Major Lazer ft. Justin Bieber and MØ – “Cold Water” (Mad Decent) Afrojack ft. Ty Dolla $ign – “Gone” (Wall Recordings/Latium/RCA Records)

Best Fight Against the System

Logic ft. Damian Lemar Hudson – “Black SpiderMan” (Race & LGBTQ) (Def Jam) The Hamilton Mixtape – “Immigrants (We Get the Job Done)” (Immigration) (Atlantic Records) Big Sean – “Light” (Race) (Def Jam) Alessia Cara – “Scars To Your Beautiful” (Body image) (Def Jam) Taboo ft. Shailene Woodley – “Stand Up / Stand N Rock #NoDAPL” (Environment) John Legend – “Surefire” (Immigration & Anti-Muslim hate) (Columbia Records)

You can catch the 2017 VMAs on Sunday, August 27, at 8 p.m. on MTV.